Sunday, June 13, 2010

Sweet ride





Dear Aidan,

Today we took our new car for a spin. It took mommy a good 20 minutes to put your car seat into the new car. It took that long because I used the UAS (Universal Anchor System) and our old car didn't have that. I was huffing and puffing trying to install it. Eventually I got it and we took you for a ride. I guess the ride was really comfortable because you fell asleep right away and you didn't wake up for a long time. You looked like a little Buddha sitting in the car seat.





Haha. While I'm typing this daddy is trying to put you to sleep. It's his night and I think you are being a bit difficult. He is constantly saying 'Shhhhhhh'. I hope you fall asleep soon. It's been a long day for you.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Rice rusks & party hat





Dear Aidan,

I bought a big bag of bong twi gi (Korean rice rusks) at H-Mart the other day because you really like Baby Mum Mums which are an exact dupe for it. I like the fact that the Korean ones come in big round disks instead of the small oval shapes that the Mum Mums are. It takes you longer to eat it and you have something more substantial to hold on to. I gave you a small piece yesterday and you were preoccupied with it for a good 10 minutes. I thought it was so cute how you were eating it because you were taking small, delicate bites and you were concentrating so much on the task at hand. I wanted to film you and take some photos of you today eating it for the blog.


On another note, you totally chewed up the baby bible book that I bought you back in March. You started using it as a 'car' by pushing the book along the carpet. Then I guess you picked it up and started chewing at the spine. Daddy was watching you at the time so I'm not sure how he didn't see you gnawing at the book. Anyways, as you can see it's wrecked. I might check out a few toy cars for you at Walmart tomorrow. I don't want anything that will scrape the baseboards, but I might look at some plastic or wooden toy options. Nothing made of metal.


I thought of a clothing option for your birthday party. Your Vancouver grandparents bought you a traditional Korean Hanbok while they were in Korea, but I want to put you in a schoolboy outfit in between. I think it would be so cute if you wore the newsboy cap that you Auntie Jane bought for you while we were in Vancouver back in October last year. I would pair it with an Oxford button-down shirt and some slacks.

BTW, while I was taking photos of you Rosco came up to you and started smelling you. You were laughing like crazy which I thought was such a Kodak moment. I think you were tickled by his fur.




Oh and another thing, the big surprise that I was talking about last week is finally revealed. We got a car! We picked it up today. It's a 2007 used Acura MDX. Your Toronto grandparents drive it as well, but theirs is a 2006 model. I just like it because it has a DVD player and it's so much more roomier than the Acura 1.6EL that we currently drive. Also, when mommy and daddy have another baby in the near future it would be great to have 2 cars so that mommy isn't stuck at home like she was with you.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

A trip to H-Mart





Dear Aidan,

The picture above is of you at H-Mart today. We went there to eat dinner because daddy had to get his hair cut next door. I was buying a few candies and goodies for the loot bag for your birthday at H-Mart while I was waiting for daddy. Unfortunately you were in a crabby mood because you started crying really loud while mommy was looking at the candy aisle. I had to give you a package of Milky candy bag for you to play with to calm you down. Tomorrow I'll probably finish making the loot bags for the kids that will be coming to your party.

Below are some snapshots I took of how the entrance table will look outside the party room. I'm going to be putting a large table outside the party room and cover it with a red and white checkered tablecloth that I got at the dollar store. I made a photo frame of you that I'm going to be propping up on an easel. I'll probably put the clipboard with random facts about you on the table as well as some floral arrangements and a pencil holder with some HB pencils for decoration. The chalkboard is where I'm going to be writing 'Welcome to Aidan's 1 year birthday party!' or something along those lines. I got the same tablecloth for the head table inside the party room. I'll be putting 2 photo frames on either side of the table and I'm going to put your cake and cupcakes in the middle of the table. I'm also going to be putting a trio of bowls filled with candy as well.





Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Rough day

Dear Aidan,

Today was one of the hardest days in a long time. You usually wake up once in the middle of the night or you don't even wake up until the next morning. However, last night you woke up 3 times. I shouldn't complain because when I first had you I was waking up every 2 hours to feed you for 45 minutes. I forgot what that was like. Anyways, you went to bed around 9:15pm and you woke up at 12am, 2am, and 5am. Each time you woke up I had to change your diaper because it was really full and you wanted to feed. The last time I fed you I went back to bed thinking you were asleep, but you woke up 5 minutes later. I was so frustrated. Daddy got up because he heard me wake up so many times so he went to try to put you to sleep. However, when he went you were standing up in your crib and you had paint all over your mouth! I don't know if I had mentioned this before, but you have a problem of gnawing at your crib with your teeth. It's so annoying because that crib is expensive and eating paint is definitely not good for you. Mommy had to get you out of the crib and I slept with you in the playroom so that daddy could sleep. It was really difficult putting you to sleep. It was so uncomfortable because the playroom was really cold in the middle of the night and I was sleeping with my leg clamping you down. I had all the blanket covering your body so mommy was freezing cold. Let me just say that I am exhausted today. I had no energy to do anything. I didn't even fold the laundry, take you for a walk (even though it was gorgeous outside), or even make the bed. Hopefully you will sleep better tonight.

The pictures below are of you when you woke up in your playroom today. You woke up at 8am and you were full of energy. Mommy was a zombie so she was still lying down watching you play. You have a tendency of using your baby bible book as a 'car'. You push it around the carpet like you are driving a toy car. I think next time I go to the toy store I'm going to pick up a toy car for you.









Saturday, June 5, 2010

What a picky eater you are



Dear Aidan,

Boy, are you a picky eater... I've had problems with you eating solid foods from day 1. It's getting a little better, but you're still not how I want you to be at this stage. You are almost 11 months and you are getting about 2.5 Tbsp of solid foods 3 times a day. Sometimes you'll start spitting out the food from your mouth with your tongue. That really annoys me. I've also started trying to introduce foods with a little bit of a texture to you each day- cottage cheese, meats (beef, pork, chicken), fruits (pears, honeydew), and bread. You've really improved on eating meats. I had a tough time at first because even though I pureed it it was still textured. Here I am trying to give you honeydew melons. My friend YJ gave some to her son, Asher, as a snack and he was eating it so well. Although he is 2 months older than you I think she gave it to him at your age.

So back to you. You'll put the honeydew a little in your mouth and then you'll make this gagging face and actually shudder. It's quite funny. I always give you something little by little every day so your palate gets used to it so I hope you'll eventually learn to eat non-pureed foods. Your Toronto grandma made a batch of congee for you with rice and vegetables so I have to pick that up tomorrow. The funny thing is whenever mommy pretends to eat something you'll start smacking your lips together like you want it. One day I was eating a piece of bread and you were watching me so intently while smacking your lips together. I tore up a little piece and gave it to you. You always put it in your mouth a little cautiously. If it's the first time I'm giving it to you you make a sour face like you ate a piece of lemon. Then you sometimes shudder like it's the grossest thing you've ever eaten in your life. However, if I continue to eat it you'll want more. That's what is happening with the honeydew situation right now. If I introduce a new food to you I pretend to eat it or I actually eat it so that you'll see that I am enjoying it. That way you'll be more open to trying it for yourself.


Could you be finally eating the honeydew all on your own?



Maybe not. Looks like you still dislike it. Let's try again tomorrow. Sigh.



Oh no. Look who's playing with their foot again. So attractive...


BTW, we have some exciting news to share with you, but daddy doesn't want me to say anything until next Friday. Don't worry, it's not anything to do with you getting a brother or a sister. Haha.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Good morning sunshine







Dear Aidan,

You are the cutest little thing in the mornings. Especially after you had a good nights rest. You woke up at 5:00am this morning so I had to change your diaper and breast feed you back to bed, but after that you woke up at 8:00am. You woke up in a pretty good mood. You tend to look a bit dazed in your crib when you wake up. You start cooing and looking around your room like you don't know how you got there. When you don't have a good nights rest you usually wake up crying. Because mommy was still very sleepy I took you back into our bed to feed you in bed. These pictures were of you right after I breast fed you in bed. You were clapping your hands together happily. I just had to take pictures of you.

I don't know if I had mentioned this already, but you started mimicking stuff I do now. I always try to say grace with you before every meal (except when I breast feed you), but I never thought that it was really registering with you. However, a couple days ago you started putting your hands together in a prayer position. I was quite shocked. Then you give a little giggle like you knew all along what I was doing. What a smart kid you are! I told daddy about it so hopefully he can do the same. He always forgets to say grace. :0S

Tonight we went over to your Toronto grandparent's house to eat naeng myun. Auntie Sara, Uncle Dan, Auntie Jess, and Uncle Wayne were also there. It's funny how quickly our family grew. Once they have kids it'll be a big dinner party.

Sweet dreams my little one.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

I miss you

Dear Aidan,

Sorry mommy hasn't been taking photos of you lately. I've been so busy during the day taking care of you, doing freelance work, and picking out weeds in the back yard that I haven't had time to take any photos. I promise tomorrow I'll take lots of pictures of you. It's weird, but even though you are sleeping in your crib and not far from me I miss you at night. It's a weird feeling. I've never missed anyone who was right beside me. Is this what being a mom is? I thought it was just me, but daddy has said that to me too. Daddy and I would be lying in our bed at night and he would blurt out, 'I miss the little guy (you).' He would ask me to bring you over to our bed so that we could all be together.